276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Mina and the Undead

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I was sent a proof copy and I'll be honest, at first I was unsure how I was going to get on with it as it's not my usual genre but oh my goodness, as soon as I started it, I was hooked! Being a fan of vampire stories and the macabre, she is keen to explore the spooky parts of the city. I’ve honestly enjoyed it every time and even having learnt the twists after the first read, the plot is strong and you realise the easter egg clues you previously missed.

Mina and her sister Libby have had their ups and downs, but Mina goes to stay with her older sister for a summer she'll never forget. During the summer, Mina visits Libby, her new roommates, Jared and Lucas and Libby's girlfriend Della, in dazzling "Crescent City". It had a lot going for it: Vampires, New Orleans, the 1990s setting complete with fun pop culture references.She can’t wait to explore the city’s darkest secrets – vampire tours, seedy bars, spooky cemeteries, disturbing local myths… And it gets even better when Mina lands a part-time job at a horror movie mansion and meets Jared, Libby’s gorgeous housemate, co-worker and fellow horror enthusiast.

After growing up in Whitby, the town that inspired Dracula, Mina loves nothing more than a creepy horror movie. If you’re a fan of vampire tales, sink your teeth into Mina and the Undead and enjoy a thrilling tale of murder, obsession, and romance. While it's not a perfect story, I think if you are in the right head space, it can be a hell of a good time. I really enjoyed how this story had actual legends and myths of New Orleans interwoven throughout this very unique tale. Mina goes to stay with her Sister in New Orleans for the summer, and tries to get a job at the famous haunted mansion.

Your words, like your reviews, bring books to life and give them a voice before the front cover is even turned.

I had no idea where the story was going to take us but it is a journey that is memorable and fun to read. There isn’t 1 thing I didn’t like in this book with the backdrop of New Orleans and the 90’s and horror references I knew from the first chapter this was a winner. What promises to be a fun visit and a chance for the two to reconnect soon devolves into a murder mystery with a decidedly supernatural bent. I loved the pop culture references in this story, and found it hard to put the story down until I found out answers to all the questions. Meeting her sister's roommate Jared, it seems like it's going to be your stereotypical boy meets girl tale until you throw in Fang Fest.

My obsession only became stronger as time went on with Bela Lugosi, David from The Lost Boys, and the list goes on.

Its chapter lengths are relatively short to allow for reading breaks (but the chapter cliffhangers make it hard to put down). I did appreciate the well done diversity in the book though, that's the one thing you might have not found in a book from 2012.The unmissable YA Gothic horror of 2021, perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Stranger Things. Amy does such a great job combining classic tropes with fresh ideas and produces a gripping thriller that engages the reader from the very first page.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment